Member for Wannon, Dan Tehan, was delighted to host the Australian Government Sports Awards Ceremony on Tuesday 15 November in Maryborough.

Being acknowledged were Wannon athletes, coaches and sporting clubs for their outstanding commitment or achievement in sport.

The guest speaker for the Australian Government Sports Awards was Ron Branton. Ron originally from Maryborough is a football legend, known for his career at Richmond as a rover, before developing into one of the finest back pocket players in the game.  In 2006 Ron was inducted into the Richmond Hall of Fame.

Recipients of the Awards were:

Team Achievement – Secondary School

  • Emmanuel College – Year 8 Football team (Warrnambool)

Individual (U18 Female) 

  • Sophie-Kate Shaw (Terang)
  • Layla Watson (Grassmere)

Individual Female (Open) 

  • Shannon Malseed (Narrawong)

Individual Achievement (Masters) 

  • George Draffen (Woolsthorpe)

Team Achievement (Masters)

  • Maryborough Carpet Bowls (Maryborough) (individual certificates)

Contribution by an Individual 

  • Troy Driscoll (Carisbrook)
  • Andrew Murrell (Portland)
  • James Shepherd (Maryborough)
  • Muhktar Kadiri (Hamilton)

Contribution by Community Group 

  • Mrs Athlea (Ath) Archer and Mrs Beth Francis (Hamilton)

Unable to attend on the day:

Team Achievement – Secondary School

  • Portland Secondary College – Senior Boys Basketball
  • Warrnambool College Hockey Team

Individual (U18 Female)

  • Miriana Perkins (Wannon)
  • Laura Lafferty (Warrnambool)

Individual (U18 Female) 

  • Ella Wood (Ararat)

Individual Female (Open) 

  • Kirsty Rout (Hensley Park)

Individual Male (Open) 

  • David Altmann (Warrnambool)

Individual (U18 Male)

  • Lachlan Field (Dunkeld)
  • Sam Peters (Narrawong)

Individual Achievement (Masters)

  • Leigh Uebergang (Penshurst)

Photo Gallery: