Member for Wannon, Dan Tehan, was delighted to host the National Volunteer Awards at a ceremony on Thursday 23 November in Beaufort.

Individual and group volunteers who have made an outstanding contribution to our local communities were recognised and their involvement celebrated.

Mr Tehan said “the volunteer awards are an opportunity to celebrate individuals and groups that show generosity and compassion to help others, others in need in one way or another.   These awards are uplifting; everyone has a generosity of spirit, of giving, of kindness and a willingness to give time to their fellow community members.”

Attendees at the National Volunteer Awards heard from special guest George Kirsanovs.  George shared his insights and experience about volunteering in the education sector.  George volunteers with the Beaufort Schools Plantation Management Committee; youth inspired programs and a number of community-based organisations in Beaufort.

Mr Kirsanovs said, “he admired the significant contribution being made by people (volunteers) who willingly give time and skill when acting as individuals or as members of groups, organisations, and associations that act to improve the lives of others.”

Recipients of the Awards were:

Young Volunteer Award

  • Tegan Dixon (Amherst)
  • Lillian Normington (Maryborough)
  • Ripley Watt (Dixie)

Education Award

  • Kerri Bilson (Warrnambool)
  • Kate Dixon (Hamilton)
  • Lana Lovell (Heywood)
  • Lesley Maroney (Hamilton)
  • Robert Maroney (Hamilton)
  • Ivan Carrucan (Warrnambool)

Environment Award

  • Friends of the Great South West Walk (Portland)

Group Volunteer Award

  • A.S.E Group (Warrnambool)
  • Beaufort Apex Club (Beaufort)
  • Friends and Relatives of Merindah (Camperdown)
  • Loch-Ard Pony Club (Princetown)
  • Standing Tall in Hamilton (Hamilton)

Long-Term Commitment to Community Service Award

  • Maree Gordon (Bealiba)
  • John Graham (Hamilton)
  • Margaret Rowley (Port Fairy)
  • Vicki Brown (Portland)

 Member of Parliament’s Award

  • Donna Dunmore (Ararat)
  • Kylie Langley (Coleraine)
  • Julie Taylor (Coleraine)

Photo Gallery: